Thursday, May 16, 2013

A Man of Indeterminate Value by Ron Felber Review & Giveaway

In a world plagued by corrupt corporations and sinister forces that prowl the global landscape, John "Jack" Madson seeks salvation from deep within the man he is today and the man he aspires to be. In the tradition of Raymond Chandler, John Grisham, and Michael Connelly, this crime fiction series launches with three noir thrillers bristling with authenticity, insight, and social commentary.

From the boardrooms of Wall Street, to the steamy backstreets of Bangkok, to the secret Triads of Shanghai, award-winning author Ron Felber, originator of the FOX television series The Mob Doctor, takes his reader into the violent, surreal, and sex-crazed underbelly of 21st century America, the "empire in decline." Witty, riveting, and diabolically clever, the heart-pounding pace, exotic locales, and unforgettable characters make the "Jack Madson" series a welcomed innovation within the genre of crime fiction.

 A Man of Indeterminate Value (Book 1), introduces ex-cop Jack Madson as a disgraced Wall Street take-over artist and target of a failed suicide scam that leaves him the "most wanted" man in the Garden State of NJ. Madson is on a personal mission to take on corporate forces hell-bent on his destruction as they seek to IPO game-changing bio-medical technology to the Street worth hundreds of billions of dollars.

A Man of Indeterminate Value caught me from the first page and didn't let go.  It begins with Jack begging for sanctuary in a church and then beginning to write down his confession - before his death is proven accidental.  From there, the reader is given the guts of what has transpired and then it picks up where Jack is until a energizing ending.

Jack isn't a character I could connect with, he's a real jackass, truth be told.  But all life is valuable and Jack figures his has to be worth something.  He hates his job, hates his wife and he hates all of the debt he's accumulated - so he decides to fake his own death.  He figures he can get to Mexico and get the money he's been saving from selling intellect to China.  There, he can start a new life.  What he doesn't anticipate is his partner double crossing him.

Now, Jack tries to lay low and get back to the states and get more info to double his would-be money.  But, his partner is still after him and he won't be satisfied until Jack is really dead.  A fast-paced page-turner with compelling characters and nail-biting scenes, A Man of Indeterminate Value is one that I could easily see as a movie.  It has all of the key elements and includes a birds eye view of corporate greed, which gives the novel relevance in today's society.  If you're looking for a gritty thriller, pick this one up! 

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

One lucky reader will win their own copy of A Man of Indeterminate Value

*Fill out the Rafflecopter to enter
*USA only
*Ends June 5, 2013

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. I think he is in search of nitrogen rich grass and or foliage.


The old grey donkey, Eeyore stood by himself in a thistly corner of the Forest, his front feet well apart, his head on one side, and thought about things. Sometimes he thought sadly to himself, "Why?" and sometimes he thought, "Wherefore?" and sometimes he thought, "Inasmuch as which?" and sometimes he didn't quite know what he was thinking about.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave a comment. It's appreciated.